Long Winter Days

Standard

While our days are long and a tad dreary in our New England winter weather, and if you’re not an outdoorsy person, these days afford us time to be creative. What could be more fun than that?

After fighting off a three week bout with bronchitis, I’m back to work on a new Zentangle book, and I’ve been creating mandalas. They’re so delightful to make. All it takes is a little ingenuity, a few tools, and there you are!!

This was done using a circle made with a protractor, a sketch pad, a pencil, and a pen. The circumference is 7.5″. Once I finished tangling the second mandala, I added color.

img_14651

img_14621

These two projects took quite some time. First, because they are large, and secondly, due to color choices and placement. I have yet to shade each of them with graphite.

Over the weekend, I played with small squares for tangled mandalas. While they aren’t quite finished, I’m happy with the progress I’ve made. The top mandala has, so far, been done in color and black and white. The other two below it, are black ink only. Should they end up in color, I’ll post the finished product on my Facebook page:                                              https://www.facebook.com/jeanne.paglio

img_14681

How many of you have tried your hand at Mandalas, or have perfected them? I’d enjoy knowing, feel free to send them to me at JMPag9@aol.com so I can see what you’ve accomplished.

I know I haven’t been in touch for a while, and I apologize for that. WordPress was giving me problems, as was Google. All is straightened out, finally! Best wishes for an interesting 2017 and I hope to hear from you!

 

About jeannemarie67

An artist and author for many years, I am delighted to have studied at Rhode Island School of Design, New England Institute of Technology and also with Rick Roberts & Maria Thomas, the creators of Zentangle. I reside in the western Rhode Island countryside with my husband and two crazy cats.

Leave a Reply

