The Cost of Being Creative – Part 2

Standard
The Cost of Being Creative – Part 2

So, I tried to get to this second part of the series on being creative and getting paid for it, but time flew, away and I find I’m a week late. Shame, shame, I know! I’m here now so let’s get going on the way to find markets for your creativity, if that’s what you seek.

There are many options to consider and things that must be figured out when searching for the right venue for your particular artwork/craft. I covered the craft show in part one, so let’s take a look at where else you can display and sell your work. There aren’t that many shops in my area that will take handcrafted items on consignment, but those that do usually pay 60/40 or 70/30. This means the artist receives 60% or 70% of the sale price and the shop is earning the remainder. Remember, you are giving up money to show and display your work, so price it accordingly. Don’t undersell yourself just because you’ve researched what others are getting for work similar to yours, be competitive and consider what you and your work is worth. I’m not being mean or bossy, I simply want you to make enough money to cover your costs, time, and make a profit in the end.

There are online shops that don’t charge much for displaying your work, and they have good reputations. http://www.artfire.com; http://www.etsy.com; and even http://www.ebay.com are a few. These places charge a percentage of sales or they charge a fee for having a shop. Make sure to read the FAQs before jumping in with both feet.

If you have a website, post your work there as well, add PayPal checkout to it, and then post those designs to Pinterest with the link to your website or online shop. Load photos onto Facebook and add your links to the post, then do the same with Twitter. There are a number of great ways to promote your work and generate sales. Be thorough, take good photos, and always follow-up with customers right away. Don’t leave them hanging for days, it’s bad business and shouts “unprofessional”.

I have a Storenvy shop, but haven’t done much with it yet. When I get it up and running, I’ll be sure to let you know how it’s going. No matter what, there is no free cost of doing business. There’s always money to be made, your brand to consider, and expenses that can be written off on your taxes at the end of the year. I consider my costs and travel as good write-offs.

This is it for this time. Next time round, I’ll talk about other avenues of getting your work out to the public. Good luck in your pursuits, and if I can help you in any way, please don’t hesitate to contact me. Happy Easter!!

About jeannemarie67

An artist and author for many years, I am delighted to have studied at Rhode Island School of Design, New England Institute of Technology and also with Rick Roberts & Maria Thomas, the creators of Zentangle. I reside in the western Rhode Island countryside with my husband and two crazy cats.

Leave a Reply

