The Cost of Being Creative – Part 1

Standard

IMG_1126

Having done craft shows for many years, I’ve found success in some and not-so-much success in others. I consider it part of the cost of being creative. First off, artisans never know what will strike a chord with consumers. It’s a serious guessing game, trending crafts tend to flood the market very quickly, and while we like to think our work is just that much more unique than the next artist’s on the block, it’s always a crap shoot.

As if I don’t have enough on my plate with writing, designing, and all that entails, I’m registered to do ten craft shows this year, beginning in June. This offers time enough for me to create merchandise that will “WOW” the public, so much so, that consumers will buy every piece of work in my booth. I know, you’re grinning, right? One can only hope that will be the case and work toward that goal by offering something different and being a good salesperson who can make the goal a reality.

In between time, I have plans to sell on Pinterest and might even get an Etsy shop going. I have a Storenvy shop that I haven’t completed setting up yet, and have heard some negative grumbling about that particular enterprise. Not sure how true the grumbling is, I won’t mention what I’ve heard.

Back to craft shows. . . If you do craft shows and fairs, then you know what I mean when I say selection of venue is paramount. I’ve done juried shows that appeared to be a great venue, yet once I got there, the show looked like a flea market which meant every consumer thought they could offer a mere fraction of the asking price.When reminded of the amount of work that went into the piece, the consumer didn’t consider it important. It’s the cost of being creative. But really? I refuse to reduce my price to make a sale, though there are lots of things I do offer to engage the customer. This new venue I’ve decided to participate with is a great spot, has talented vendors, and I look forward to being there to sell my work once or twice per month from June through December. Let’s hope I meet with success, for it won’t be due to lack of trying!

Let me know if you do shows and what makes them successful for you. I’d love to hear about that. Next week I’ll talk about the second part of The Cost of Being Creative, so join me won’t you?

About jeannemarie67

An artist and author for many years, I am delighted to have studied at Rhode Island School of Design, New England Institute of Technology and also with Rick Roberts & Maria Thomas, the creators of Zentangle. I reside in the western Rhode Island countryside with my husband and two crazy cats.

Leave a Reply

