February Blues

Standard

We all wonder when spring will arrive and look forward to the changes coming up sooner than we think, or hopefully so. Since we can’t do anything about the weather, we could look at winter in a different way. While cooped up inside, we can be creative. Let’s take the time to try our hand at things we’ve always wanted to do, but never quite got to.

I’ve begun to draw and color gems on inchie and twinchie squares. What’s an inchie square? It’s a 1″ square of pre-cut mat-board. These little darlings come in a variety of sizes that appeal to those who might find an entire sheet of paper/canvas daunting. I don’t have that particular issue, but I do like to work small on occasion. Here’s the link to view inchie products: http://www.inchiearts.com I’m sure you’ll find the sizes intriguing.

What prompted my interest? I happened to see Eni Oken’s art work online and thought inchie products would fit the bill, for my purposes, that is.
Here are some images of the mini-canvases (not really canvas, but I call them that) I’ve created lately. I’ve also begun to assemble a PDF for those who would like to learn the how-to of it,and using various media to do so. Once I get started, time flies, my enthusiasm grows, and I can’t do enough gem squares. As you can see, I like a textured look, using different products, and adding a tangled trim to each design and backdrop. I finish them up with a smooth, shiny gloss that makes the stones pop. I’m still perfecting my handmade easels. Most of the squares end up at 4″x 4″ inches and sit on a small easel to show them off nicely.

What are you working on???

About jeannemarie67

An artist and author for many years, I am delighted to have studied at Rhode Island School of Design, New England Institute of Technology and also with Rick Roberts & Maria Thomas, the creators of Zentangle. I reside in the western Rhode Island countryside with my husband and two crazy cats.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

